Round Rock ISD Board of Trustees Election


Wells Branch PTA,

This fall, Round Rock ISD will have elections for Board of Trustees.  The following comes from the public release from RRISD (found here):

Ten candidates for five places will appear on the November 4, 2014 Round Rock ISD Board of Trustees election ballot.

Places 1, 3 and 6 will feature two candidate races with current board members running for re-election. Place 5 will feature three candidates to replace current Board President Catherine Hanna who did not choose to run for office after serving Round Rock ISD since May 2010.

Place 4 Trustee and Board Secretary Terri Romere will run unopposed. She has served as a Trustee since 2010.

Five of the seven Trustee positions are slated to be on the November ballot. The term of office for the Place 1 Trustee is two years while the terms for Places 3, 4, 5, and 6 are four years.

Previously, Trustees were elected every three years. As part of the transition to four-year terms, Trustees completed an election drawing on June 19 to determine which positions would be four-year terms and which one would be an initial two-year term, according to Board Policy BBB (Local).

After the November 4, 2014 election, all elected Trustees will serve four-year terms.

The seven members of the Board of Trustees are each elected at-large. Trustees meet regularly on the third Thursday of each month at the Round Rock High School Lecture Hall, 300 Lake Creek Drive in Round Rock, as well as additional called and committee meetings as needed.

The order on the ballot and the candidates are as follows:

  • Place 1: Claudio Cruz and Nikki Gonzales
  • Place 3: Diane Cox and Bryan Black
  • Place 4: Terri Romere
  • Place 5: Paul K. Emerson, Suzi David and Allen McKee
  • Place 6: Paul J. Tisch and Tony A. Pitts
Posted in News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.